Author Topic: Chili and Condiments  (Read 4599 times)

Delicious Hot Dogs

• View Profile
Chili and Condiments
« on: November 18, 2013, 09:41:40 AM »
I'm a newbie in western North Carolina and have been doing my research for a couple of months now.  I've decided on a cart and the HD gave me a thumbs up based on the brochure. Two possibilities on a commissary and should have a commitment this week. I've found good sources for product.
Is there a generally accepted formula for the amount of chili and condiments per 100 hot dogs?
I plan to only offer basic dogs and condiments to start with and monitor requests and input from customers on adding others.
Thanks for any and all responses.  Should be some good info here to help get started and reduce the number of mistakes a newbie always makes.
Ronnie
Ronnie James

duggsdoggs

• Good!! Good!!
    • View Profile
    • https://www.facebook.com/Duggs-Doggs-194570393930642/?fref=ts
Re: Chili and Condiments
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 06:42:53 PM »
I have tried chili but I have found that it is not worth the effort or the cost.  I agree with you on the basic, condiments.  I use Mustard, ketchup, cut onions, relish, hot peppers, banana peppers and kraut and my special sauce.  i figure about .05 per item for cost.  You will find that some most will only want mustard, ketchup, relish and onions but not all.  you will learn your customers.  start small and basic...DUGGS DOGGS GOOD!! GOOD!!
The information contained is provided in good faith, and every reasonable effort is made to ensure that it is accurate and up to date. Accordingly, this information is provided 'as is' without warranty of any kind.

HotDogRed

• Top SVF Contributor
  • LEGALIZE STREET FOOD
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 08:06:47 PM »