Author Topic: Where To Buy Product?  (Read 5213 times)

BeefyDJangles

• Top SVF Contributor
    • View Profile
Where To Buy Product?
« on: April 29, 2015, 12:55:45 PM »
I am just starting out and have not yet purchased my cart or secured any of necessary permits and licenses yet.  I am still in the research stage.  I am curious how other vendors go about getting their food product.  Do you just go to the local wholesale shop and buy in bulk from places like Sam's, Costco, or GFS?  Do you have items shipped to the commissary that you use?  I have a restaurant background so I am used to ordering from major outfits and having them send the entire order out on a truck.  Obviously this would not be able to happen when the amount I am ordering is much less than what was required for the restaurants I used to work at.  I also don't think I would be able to have items shipped to the commissary I am going to use as my plan was to use a local church hopefully at no cost.  Everyone has different situations but any input on this would be appreciated it.  Thanks!

OzDogs

• View Profile
Re: Where To Buy Product?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2015, 03:24:01 PM »
Uh, yes, yup, pretty much. You got the whole thing boss. If you have free cold storage there's no reason not to go with a wholesaler-distributor and get the absolute best price. Since cold storage costs most of us money, we keep light on inventory by hitting up Sams and Costco.

You won't be sorry serving Kirkland dogs. People are raving for them.

SupremeDogg

• Top SVF Contributor
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2015, 08:57:28 PM »
Or, depending on where you are, you can find the local distributor of dogs you want to sell (sabretts, vienna, etc) and buy directly
from them. Many times they will hook you up with complimentary stuff like umbrellas and dispensers. Find their contact info and contact them. they are usually ready to talk to you since you are choosing to vend their product.